//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Cars, expensive cars: Yorkville exotic car show

I was walking on Toronto’s Bloor Street this afternoon, and stumbled on the Yorkville Exotic Car Show.
I like to drive. I’ve sometimes wonder what it’s like to drive a fast car such as a Ferrari, Porsche, Corvette, or Lamborghini. I can pick them out in a crowd. But the thought of driving fast cars doesn’t occupy my mind long. I definitely don’t read any car literature or news.
In fact, I have very little interest in cars. But the aesthetic, photographer side of my personality awakened when I saw the rows of good-looking, angular vehicles displayed on more than three blocks of bustling Bloor Street on Sunday. I couldn’t help but get shots of them.
Sure, there are more pressing events in the world.
I have friends protesting in Taksim Square in Istanbul, Turkey, right now. They are getting pelleted with rubber bullets, sprayed with pepper spray and arrested, and worse – all for exercising their democratic right.
The polar ice caps are melting at an alarming rate. Hurricanes and tornadoes are getting more severe and destructive – a result of climate change. And CO2 exhaust that cars produce is a major contributor to the phenomena.
But there is something to be said of the craftsmanship of boutique cars like the 2012 Lotus Evora S, the Lamborghini Murcielago Roadster, the Aston Martin and the 1958 Chevrolet Corvette and Impala.
Compared to the usual, everyday car, they are unique, harder to find, and even harder to buy for the majority of people in the world.
Here are photos from the Yorkville Exotic Car Show on Father’s Day. Sorry they aren’t bigger. These pictures were popular on Instagram, where I posted them originally:






mail-6






mail-13


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

